top of page
33 saa tattoo.jpg

Sovereign Grand Inspector General, 33rd Degree, Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite

Freemasonry or Masonry consists of fraternal organisations that trace their origins to the local fraternities of stonemasons that from the end of the fourteenth century regulated the qualifications of stonemasons and their interaction with authorities and clients. The degrees of Freemasonry retain the three grades of medieval craft guilds, those of Apprentice, Journeyman or fellow (now called Fellowcraft), and Master Mason.


The candidate of these three degrees is progressively taught the meanings of the symbols of Freemasonry and entrusted with grips, signs and words to signify to other members that he has been so initiated. The degrees are part of allegorical morality play and part lecture. Three degrees are offered by Craft (or Blue Lodge) Freemasonry, and members of any of these degrees are known as Freemasons or Masons. There are additional degrees, which vary with locality and jurisdiction, and are usually administered by their own bodies (separate from those who manage the Craft degrees).

The primary, local organisational unit of Freemasonry is the Lodge. These private Lodges are usually supervised at the regional level (usually coterminous with either a state, province, or national border) by a Grand Lodge or Grand Orient. There is no international, worldwide Grand Lodge that supervises all of Freemasonry; each Grand Lodge is independent, and they do not necessarily recognise each other as being legitimate.

Modern Freemasonry broadly consists of two main recognition groups. Regular Freemasonry insists that a volume of scripture is open in a working lodge, that every member profess belief in a Supreme Being, that no women are admitted (although, in some jurisdictions, those who transition to women after being initiated may stay; see below), and that the discussion of religion and politics is banned. Continental Freemasonry is now the general term for the jurisdictions which have removed some, or all, of these restrictions.

The ancient and accepted Scottish rite of Freemasonry, commonly known only as a Scottish rite, is the Freemasonry we study and frequent. Scotland, England, the United States, Australia, Canada and France are the jurisdictions we follow. We also host Brazil and other countries on our social page.

If you wish to develop your knowledge or participate in informative meetings or meetings, we can organise them with the utmost respect for confidentiality, rules and laws appropriate to the degree of belonging.

Freemasonry is not synonymous with danger and lies, but with study and evolution.

33 002.jpg
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Google+ - Black Circle
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page